Collaboration: MAHDI SARHAN and “il fotografismo”.

Buongiorno and bismillah,

I had the great chance to interview a photografer while he was taking pictures of me! And the result is pretty awesome:

SO WHO ARE YOU?

I’m Mahdi Sarhan and I’m lebanese. I’m what you can call a semi-professional photographer. But I developed my self a name, a concept. The “Fotografismo” (which is originally italian). I define myself as a “Fotografista”, not really as a photographer. To summarize, I look to myself more as a continuously learning photographer, an analyst, someone that analyses the surroundings, trying to find symmetries, perspectives and lines. I’m a photographer “Totographer”, someone that captures everything (from the latin “toto”=everything). I study cinema and my aim is to a filmmaker and a journalist in the future.

HOW DID YOU DEVELOP AN INTEREST IN PHOTOGRAPHY?

I developed this interest more due to my mother. In fact I began with my mother’s camera, a Panasonic bridge.I’ve been doing this, for real, for approximately 4 years. Through it I can express myself and my emotions.I mainly photograph “pieces of life”. By capturing nature and streets of all kinds. When I see something worth capturing, I do.
DO YOU HAVE A SPECIFIC STYLE OF PHOTOGRAPHY?
My style is given by what I said before. The “Fotografismo”. The aim to photograph what gives you life. I usually like to “fade” photographs. It gives a more dramatic view and sensation. I also have my own hashtags. One of them is #misaleilfotografismo, the italian translation for “my fotografismo is raising”.

WHAT EQUIPMENT DO YOU USE?

I use a Nikon D5100 and mainly a Sigma 50mm f/1.4, alongside with a Sigma 10-20mm wide angle lens and a 18-105 kit lens. I also have an external flash.

WHAT KEY ELEMENTS DO YOU LOOK FOR WHEN TAKING A PICTURE?

As I already said, I follow the lines, but mainly my emotions. When shooting a model, is important, for example, and not in every case, to focus on the eyes. Oh, and the Rule of Thirds. It’s fundamental. Also the colours.

FB Page: www.facebook.com/MahdiSarhanFotografismo Main Account: Mahdi Sarhan
Leave a Reply

